Are you considering using BlueHost, and just want to be sure you’re not locked into anything?
Great – BlueHost is a wise choice for web hosting. You’ll be glad to know that all BlueHost plans can be cancelled anytime.
BlueHost also offers a 30-day money-back guarantee, making the investment worry-free. On top of that, they offer heavy discounts for 12 month, 24 month and 36 month plans.
You may also want to compare BlueHost’s offering to a top competitor like HostGator:
More About BlueHost’s Cancellation And Refund Policies
As with any web hosting service provider, site owners can cancel their account in BlueHost any time within their contract period. However, the refund value to the site owner will be on a prorate basis and excludes certain website development costs like domain name registration.
BlueHost’s top priority is to provide quality services to their clients, and they are confident you will be pleased with their services. But if you are not satisfied with it and you decide your account does not meet your needs, know that you can cancel at any time for a refund.
BlueHost’s 30-Day Money Back Guarantee
BlueHost offers a 30-day money back guarantee that allows you to cancel your account at any time for a refund, given the following terms:
- If you cancel within 30 days, you will receive a full refund.
- If you cancel after 30 days, you will receive a prorated refund for the remainder of your hosting term.
- A non-refundable domain fee is included once you register a domain with BlueHost. This covers the company’s costs and ensures that you won’t lose your domain name. You are free to transfer it after required lock periods or you can do whatever you want with it, at your convenience. This means that you retain ownership of your domain until the end of the registration period, unless you wish to extend it.
- BlueHost’s 30-day money back guarantee applies to all their web hosting plans but is not applicable to most of their add-on products. This includes domains.
- BlueHost does not impose hidden fees or penalties for ending your term early. There are no term commitments associated with your account, either.
Methods of Cancellation
There are four available methods for cancelling your BlueHost account, including:
- Online Chat
- Submitting a ticket
- Requesting an account cancellation form
- Calling the BlueHost customer service team using the phone number (888) 401-4678 via the #4 extension
Minimum Requirements for Account Cancellation
Before you can use any of the abovementioned cancellation methods, you must first have the following requirements:
- Active email address listed in your BlueHost account’s Profile page
- Last four characters of your BlueHost control panel password
If you’re already a BlueHost account holder and you have forgotten your control panel password, don’t worry because you can send a password reset request email to BlueHost. They will automatically send you a new password.
The password reset email is found on the Account Login page under the Forgot Password link.
Steps for BlueHost Account Cancellation
BlueHost will send a cancellation link via your listed email address after the account cancellation request is approved. You will then be requested to log in to your BlueHost control panel to verify crucial information prior to closing the account.
- You need to confirm that you have all the necessary backups of your files, databases, and emails. The Billing Department can then proceed with canceling and deleting everything associated with your account from BlueHost’s servers.
- DNS Zone Changes will be unavailable. In order to receive those services, you must point your name servers to another provider or renew your hosting account. The purpose of these changes is to verify whether your website has already been transferred to another web host provider. If you did not shift the address of your website after cancelling your BlueHost account, BlueHost will not no longer be liable for any errors or loss.
- You must confirm that you understand all terms and conditions upon canceling your account. BlueHost will delete all files and websites for all domains on your account thereafter.
- You must verify your first and last name.
- You are required to specify the desired renewal settings for the domain names you have registered with BlueHost, as well as for any applicable add-on products.
- You must specify your reason for cancelling your account, as well as include a brief comment about your selection.
Once you complete the cancellation form, simply click the Submit button found at the bottom of the form. You will then receive a message from BlueHost, thanking you for your submission.